CatDecenzo’s Weblog

Just some mundane madness

Eye of the Beholder

I think I’m in the wrong business. I’ve always had an appreciation for good art, even though I’ve learned through the years that art, like beauty, is in the eye of the beholder. Although I have a degree in commercial art, and have dabbled here and there letting the creative genes I received from my parents flow from my pores, I am guilty of using a lot of excuses for putting my art on the back burner…raising children while working full time, needing to be in the “right mood,” watching Will & Grace reruns on the boob tube, etc.

And I’ve always been very hard on myself when it comes to my artwork…not sure what’s behind that. But I think I’m cured. It’s taken me a long time to realize it’s not what you put down on the paper/canvas/photograph, it’s what you do with it – or who you pay to do something with it – that counts.

Case in point: I fell across these little ditties by artist Robert Rauschenberg. While I commend his talent in expressionism, uh, I’m going to go out on a limb and say something that I hate….something that many people say when they look at a piece of abstract art.  “Oh, man, I could do that!”

But really.  I COULD do that! There’s a filthy broom I have that’s been leaning against the back of my house, and there are some old tires down by the garbage dump near those new houses going up in my neighborhood, and, well, I’m not sure what that other scene is – a piece of construction floating in the water? That might be a challenge…

Although he has since passed, God rest his soul, the man had the right idea! Only problem today is if I go wandering onto a construction site with my camera, I’m sure Homeland Security will be breathing down my neck strap.

But I’ll let the man speak for himself…old Bob had some pretty sweet quotations that just goes to show that we all set way too many limits on ourselves:

  • “I think a painting is more like the real world if it’s made out of the real world”
  • “You begin with the possibilities of the material”
  • “Screwing things up is a virtue.  Being correct is never the point.  Being right can stop all the momentum of a very interesting idea.”

Think I’m going to go dig those stinky potato peels out of the trash…they have possibilities…

October 31, 2008 - Posted by | Hobbies | , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Art is subjective no right or wrongs just personal preference.

    It is true anyone can claim to be an artist and there is nothing wrong with that. I personally believe art is about recording the world how one observes it for others to peek into.

    Looking forward to that Mr potato peel art installation 🙂

    Bobby
    http://bobbywashere.wordpress.com

    Comment by bobbywashere | October 31, 2008

  2. Absolutely agree with you. Now if I can just get over fretting about whether I have the right color brown to color that potato!! 🙂

    Comment by catdecenzo | October 31, 2008


Leave a Reply

