CatDecenzo’s Weblog

Just some mundane madness

Saving a Buck at Walmart

nutriaJust when I thought our Walmart had scored in the Guiness Book of World Records for one of the skankiest, dirtiest retail outlets in the nation, a store in Louisiana just gave them a run for their money.

Apparently, workers there have known about, and adjusted to, some furry personnel running around their store. Norman, aka Bucky Beaver, is an 18-pound nutria, similar to a giant hairy rat slash small buck-toothed beaver.

An article describes how it jumped from behind a Coke machine and scared the ba-jeezus out of some poor woman, who then rammed her cart full ‘o bargains in reverse and ran over her own foot, breaking bones in her toes.

What amazes me in the article is that they just had to throw in that “she suffers from panic attacks,” (the woman, not the rat) as if that is Walmart’s defense for letting skanky, foul-smelling bear sized rodents traverse through their aisles without warning patrons that they could be in for a wicked walk through the wilderness, and to make sure what they felt weren’t no pelt…

I’ve always sat out in the car in protest whenever The Mister goes into our Walmart to pick up a few things. The mine field alone that you have to go through in the parking lot full of trash is enough to get me to yank my hair clip out of my hair and park it on my nose. Not to mention I took French in high school….

Guess next time I’ll also have to remind The Mister that if he comes across something with bright orange buck teeth to slowly “step awayyyyy from the registerrrrr.”

May 15, 2009 - Posted by | Critters | , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. I feel the same way about Walmart ….I hate going there.

    Comment by Karen | May 16, 2009

  2. We have the ultimate Wal-Mart supercenters here in AZ. Clean, beautiful – pleasure to shop there.

    Comment by Modown | May 16, 2009

  3. Hi, I came across your site by accident..was looking up empty nester info…you are hysterical…You sound just like me…i guess I’m hysterical too …sooooooooooooo funny

    Comment by valerie | May 16, 2009

  4. More nutrias! Less people!

    Comment by Cuzzin Suz | May 17, 2009


Leave a Reply

